Log in

Association of Administrative Professionals NZ Inc


Key dates for Certification:
21 March Certification & Provisional Certification applications due
1 April re-Certification applications due

Members need to achieve in the following three areas to gain Certification:

  1. Formal learning (a formal qualification at Level 5 or above)
  2. Continuing Professional Development (CPD) (125 CPD points achieved over the previous 5 years  NB: unless specified otherwise 5 pt = 1 hr CPD)
  3. Work history (1200 hours in an administrative role over the previous 3 years

These three areas are more fully explained in the Certification Application Form.



Provisional Certification is an interim step to Certification and may be achieved when the formal qualification you hold is a Level 4 certificate. All the other criteria of CPD and work history are the same.  Upgrading to full Certification, once a Level 5 qualification has been achieved, can be done at the same time of the two yearly renewals.

 Provisional Certification Application Form 



Once you have achieved Certification, you need to maintain it—this process is called Certification Renewal.

Certification Renewal is required every two years.

There are two requirements for renewal:

  1. Continue working at least 400 hours a year for each of the 2 years.
  2. 40 CPD points (approx. 8 hours) over the 2 years.

For further information contact the Professional Development Team at   

Certification Renewal Form (biennial requirement)

If you hold Provisional Certification this also must be renewed Two-Yearly.  If you have since gained a higher level qualification and wish to upgrade to Certification you can do this at the time of renewal.

Two-Yearly Provisional Certification Renewal and Upgrade Form,

For further information, contact the AAPNZ Professional Development Team at   


PO Box 5431

Lambton Quay

Wellington 6145


All prices quoted exclude GST (15%) and Admin Fee (3%)