Meet the Wellington Group Management Team

2020 - 2021 term

Group President: Angela Simms 

Angela Simms is the EA/Centre Manager for the Centre for Women’s Health Research at Victoria University of Wellington.  Prior to this she was EA to the Deputy Chief Executive, Crown Property at Land Information New Zealand (LINZ).  This followed nearly 13 years in various PA/EA roles at Victoria University of Wellington.

Angela has over 30 years’ experience as a professional administrator, gained in the areas of IT, Transport, Law, Education and Government in both New Zealand and Australia.  She enjoys the autonomy and scope her roles have provided.  She has been married to her husband Andrew for 30 years and has one daughter, Emma.  She is a Director of Cunning Plan Property Limited, and has grown her family’s property portfolio from $175K to $2.5M in the space of 17 years. She is a member of the Association of Administrative Professionals NZ and re-joined their Wellington Group Management Team in 2018 with the view to upskilling further in this area and giving back to her profession. She has held the various Group Management Team roles such as Meeting Coordinator, APD Committee member, Vice President and currently Wellington Group President.

Angela is a firm advocate for further education and has been drawn to this area for a good portion of her career, having gained an Advanced Diploma in Beauty Therapy in Australia when changing her career direction in the late 1990s, and a Post Graduate Certificate in Management Studies more recently.  She’s witnessed much change during her career, and with that change, the need to embrace the power of connection, networking and relationship development, along with upskilling for continued personal growth, to assist us to move forward positively.  

Group Co-Vice President:

Debbie Warnock

Group Co-Vice President: Kelly Nelson

Kelly is the Executive Coordinator at Volunteer Service Abroad (VSA), where she has worked directly with three Chief Executive Officers since 2011. Although she declared at the age of 14 she would “never be anyone’s secretary”, some 30-something years later Kelly has enjoyed a successful career in administration within the private, public, and non-governmental sectors. She is now proud to call herself an Administrative Professional and advocates for the recognition of administrators as professionals.

As well as graduating from the University of Canterbury with a Bachelor of Commerce degree in Business Administration, Kelly has also obtained the Legal Executive Certificate, and is currently working towards a Graduate Diploma in Business Studies (Human Resources) extramurally.

Kelly has been a member of the Association of Administrative Professionals New Zealand (AAPNZ) since 2014 and has served in the Wellington group’s management team as the Finance Officer for the last two years. She obtained Certification from AAPNZ in 2019 as well as being named a finalist in the Administrative Professional of the Year Award for 2019.

Kelly is looking forward to continuing to serve on Wellington’s GMT for the 2020-21 term.

Group Administration Officer (Acting):
Angie Simms

Our Group President, Angie Simms, is also our acting Administration Officer while we are seeking to fill this role.

If you are interested in stepping into this key role for our GMT, or would like to know more about this role, send Angie an email.

Group Finance Officer: Nicole Green

Group Social Media Coordinator:

Kelly Nelson

As well as working alongside Debbie Warnock as co-Vice President, Kelly will be managing the Wellington Group's website and Facebook content. See her profile above.

Group Newsletter Editor: Currently vacant

We are currently seeking expressions of interest for our group Newsletter Editor. We'd love to hear from you if you would like to be involved with the GMT in this role. 

If you are interested in stepping into this key role for our GMT, or would like to know more about this role, send Angie an email.

Group Membership Officer: Emma Brown

Emma Brown has taken on the role of Membership Officer for Wellington group's General Management Team (GMT), having served as our Meeting Coordinator in the 2019-20 year.

Emma first heard about AAPNZ through her current employer. She has held AAPNZ membership since 2016.

Although introverted, Emma applied for a place on GMT. This decision was well out of her comfort zone, but she knew it was her responsibility to add value by participating and contributing to the continued longevity and success of our non-profit organisation.

In the past year as Meeting Coordinator, Emma found it provided her with the opportunity to develop her event management skills, working and collaborating with GMT members and professional development.

Emma has 20 years’ experience in administrative roles working for a State-Owned Enterprise in the aviation industry. Her current role is Office Administrator comprising Executive Assistant components.

Emma’s achievements include a New Zealand Diploma in Business and NZ Institute in Management, Certificate in Supervisory Management.

Group Meeting Coordinator: Paddy Roe

Paddy Roe is a Personal Assistant to two GMs and the Office Manager for the Wellington Office of Firstgas. He has been in the Gas industry for about 12 years including working for AgForce and Origin Energy in Australia.  I returned to NZ from Australia in 2017 cause home is home and worked for Contact Energy as a LPG Logistics Specialist. 

He is passionate about Administration, supporting others and guiding people to be the best they can be through great systems and innovative ideas for long term ongoing positive change. 

Paddy's systems knowledge from my 13 year career at McDonalds Systems of NZ working my way through their Management Development Programme. Ha has also worked previously for the Ministry of Social Development for approximately seven years as a Case Manager looking after all benefits, Team Administrator and Executive Assistant to the Chief Information Officer. 

Paddy loves music and ABBA are his ultimate idols, and he loves music from the 80s as well.  He has a wonderful cat named Flynn Willis Roe who he absolutely adores. Paddy lives in Upper Hutt and works in Wellington CBD.

General GMT Members:

  • Shona Dowden
  • Emma Washer

We're thrilled to have the experience of Shona Dowden remain on our GMT this year, and Emma Washer also continues once again as a GMT member.

Mary Huffadine has not taken a formal role on the 2020-21 GMT - but is remaining connected with us to assist with projects as they pop up. We are grateful to have her continue in this capacity. Mary joined the GMT as Finance Officer in December 2015, before moving into the Membership Officer role in May 2018.

PO Box 5431

Lambton Quay

Wellington 6145


All prices quoted exclude GST (15%) and Admin Fee (3%)